RSS

Doing Dailies

08 Feb

Ok, so are you doing an everyday render? I started doing them in January of 2014 and January went pretty smooth. I was not working at the time and was able to spend plenty of time on them. Late January I started working and now I am having trouble balancing work, kids, and dailies. My biggest challenge I think is being creative. When I started my plan was to try new things. This is all good if you have the time to research and play to get something that looks decent, but with less time I am finding it harder and harder to stay creative and try new things.

So with all that said, HATS OFF to anyone that has done an everyday for a year or more and still puts out sexy renders.

If you are doing dailies please consider commenting on the following questions below.

1) are you using primarily one software?

2) how much time do you spend doing yours?

3) do you find it difficult to come up with a concept/idea?

4)have you missed a day?

 
28 Comments

Posted by on February 8, 2014 in News, Uncategorized

 

28 responses to “Doing Dailies

  1. itvteacher

    February 8, 2014 at 3:05 pm

    1) yes, I am using just Cinema 4D, but sometimes, add curves, or a watermark in Photoshop

    2) I have spent 5-6 hours on some of mine, when not working.

    3) yes I am finding it very hard to stay creative.

    4) yes, one or two. and once rendered it but forgot to post. hehe

    Thanks for sharing your answers

     
  2. cblaylock

    February 8, 2014 at 3:09 pm

    1. yes… just c4d
    2. try not to spend more than 2 hours on each one because I work full time and freelance + a kid and wife. :(
    3. some days are better than others and I have a lot to learn
    4. so far so good… about to post number 32… (I started 1/2 way in to January)

     
    • itvteacher

      February 8, 2014 at 3:11 pm

      cool, Thanks Chris

       
    • cblaylock

      February 8, 2014 at 3:11 pm

      The :( is not because I have a wife and kid btw… Just that I don’t have a lot of free time. ha!

       
      • itvteacher

        February 8, 2014 at 3:14 pm

        I hear ya.

         
  3. Brian Behm

    February 8, 2014 at 3:11 pm

    1) I primarily use 4D, it depends on what image is in my head though. Sometimes I need to use other programs o get out of my head what’s in there. It’s a pretty natural outgrowth of what my normal workflow is. I almost always do some post work in Photoshop.

    2) Some days it’s an hour. Most of the time it’s 3-4.

    3) sometimes I think it’s hard, but then I think back to the list of notes I’ve taken of different things floating in my head and choose one of them and get to work. Sometimes the inspiration is just sitting down and getting to work.

    4) Haven’t missed a day yet, I almost did the other day when something I was trying to create ended up being more complicated, but I’d posted something I was working on earlier in the day so I’m calling it good.

     
    • itvteacher

      February 8, 2014 at 3:14 pm

      Thanks Brian. I have really enjoyed your posts. the addition of talking it through is nice.

       
  4. RoVino

    February 8, 2014 at 3:17 pm

    1) are you using primarily one software? c4d because Im focusing on learning that. Photoshop for post work

    2) how much time do you spend doing yours? as much as I can.. lately 2-4 hours. I need to curtail that esp for upcoming travel and sanity sake

    3) do you find it difficult to come up with a concept/idea? Yes all the time, but I heard a phrase I’m really trying to live by.. “Creativity isnt something you can use up.. The more you use, the more you have…”

    4)have you missed a day? So far no, and I hope to keep it that way..

     
    • itvteacher

      February 8, 2014 at 3:20 pm

      Thanks for commenting Ron.

       
    • cblaylock

      February 8, 2014 at 3:28 pm

      ooo… I like that quote…

       
  5. RuneStorm (@Rune_Storm)

    February 8, 2014 at 3:41 pm

    1) Mostly Cinema4D, After Effects / Photoshop for the postwork (depends on what I need(e.g. Magic Bullet Looks, Plexus, Frischluft))

    2) Varies from 1-2 hours to up to 5 (rarely happens, mostly when I’m really unhappy with the general look and rework the entire thing)

    3) Actually I have no problem at all with the whole creativity thing, I get most of my ideas out of thin air. I don’t really have any problem thinking of a concept.

    4) Once I was very ill and postponed it 12 hours into the next day since I felt really terrible. But apart from this one time, not really.

    I personally think most peoples issue is that they spend too much time worrying and fiddling around. When I think that this render won’t look good within the next 30-60 minutes, I start from scratch and work on something different then. It works great for me. :)

     
    • itvteacher

      February 8, 2014 at 3:46 pm

      Great insights RuneStorm, thanks for the input.

       
  6. Patrick R. Gschwind

    February 8, 2014 at 3:58 pm

    1) mostly Cinema 4D and After Effects for the post work, I dont like to cheat and want to make sure that my everydas also work for animation because maybe I can use them later for an actual project?

    2) at the beginning I set myself a deadline of Max 2 hours, as I have kids & family, at the end most of them were done in Max 1h?

    3) At the beginning it was crazy hard but it was getting easier day by day?

    4) No, I always said to myeslf if I miss one day I will quit the project and take a break and that’s what I did after 437 everydays and went back about half a year later, now I’m at 539 everydays

     
    • itvteacher

      February 8, 2014 at 4:08 pm

      Thanks Patrick for the input. your have always been inspiring.

       
  7. askflo (Luke)

    February 8, 2014 at 4:24 pm

    1) are you using primarily one software? No. My primary 3d package is C4D, but part of my dailies thing is to target specific areas of weakness/curiosity and improve. A big goal of mine for this year it to get more comfortable in zbrush, I also use PS or AE for comp work and we just got Vray at work, so I’m learning the ins and outs of that.

    2) how much time do you spend doing yours? I usually spend between 1-2 hours give or take, often at night after my family is asleep. I sometimes cheat and use render tests that come out of my full-time job or my freelance work if I’m tired or if vids are calling my name.

    3) do you find it difficult to come up with a concept/idea? No. Most of the time I start working without a plan in mind. I have a pinterest board that I sometimes pull from specifically for short projects. The hardest part for me is finding enough time to dedicate to something worth putting out there.

    4)have you missed a day? i have not technically posted something everyday. I missed a few deadlines, but I always make sure I do one to cover for that day. After a month I’ve got the habit sort of drilled into my day, like working out or brushing teeth.

    The weird part for me is sharing stuff, as a sort of no name artist on twitter, I feel like I’m annoying people more than anything else. But it’s a good way to stay sharp and make yourself better at whatever your focus is.

     
    • itvteacher

      February 8, 2014 at 5:00 pm

      Nice input AskFlo, thanks. I think sharing is ok, now if you were doing an everyminute then…. ;) spam is spam, but sharing is a way to get feedback, and for artists feedback is important, (i think).

       
  8. noCreativity

    February 8, 2014 at 4:41 pm

    I feel you in this one. Actually I stopped at 100 just 2 weeks ago. I wrote about it here: http://nocreativity.com/blog/why-im-quitting-the-everydays/

    I get the whole time-management thing. Doing everydays is a lot of fun but it requires a lot of discipline and you sacrifice a lot of family time (you can’t just quit doing your fulltime job 3 hours early on a daily basis…) so at some point it becomes quite difficult to keep going. I’m following your example and would like to congratulate everyone who manages to keep going ;)

    Maybe we should define a new format that allows us to keep pushing ourselves and our creative juices without letting it consume us. What do you think?

     
  9. noCreativity

    February 8, 2014 at 4:51 pm

    Hi man,

    I actually just quit the project after 100 days. If you’d like to read about it: http://nocreativity.com/blog/why-im-quitting-the-everydays/

    I totally get the whole time management issue. In the end, you’re sacrificing a lot of family time on a daily basis, right. I mean you can’t just leave your dayjob 3 hours early on a daily basis… So the time to work on this has to come from somewhere.

    So I’ll just follow your example and congratulate everybody who manages to keep going. You guys are nuts ;)

    Maybe we should invent a new format of the everyday project to keep pushing ourselves and keep the creative juices flowing while still having a manageable challenge with some playing room to explore and experiment.

    What do you think?

     
    • itvteacher

      February 8, 2014 at 4:56 pm

      I am not that upset that I have missed a couple days, I just can’t do it somedays and have to except that. 100 days is really good! thanks for your input and sharing your experiences.

       
      • askflo (Luke)

        February 8, 2014 at 8:29 pm

        I’ve noticed a lot of the problems you’ve referenced already, only 30+ days in. I’ve combated this by posting work renders or WIP shots of personal or freelance projects to represent my work on some nights. I’m less of a motion designer and more of a 3D generalist, so in my case I don’t view the process of a daily render as a needing to be a glossy finished product but rather a representation of an expanding skillset.

         
      • itvteacher

        February 9, 2014 at 2:11 pm

        cool, yes I am more Motion Graphics.

         
  10. demafleez

    February 9, 2014 at 12:22 am

    1) are you using primarily one software?
    95% C4D with some photoshop and after effects to add a little bit of sexytime. looking to incorporate modo in the mix for everydays as a means to learn it.

    2) how much time do you spend doing yours?
    1-3 hours spread thru the morning and/or after kiddos sleep.

    3) do you find it difficult to come up with a concept/idea?
    not so much. I try to use something in my day or have been recently thinking about as a catalyst. sometimes it morphs into something else completely. other times it might be something I haven’t had much play time with like particles or the finer points of rendering. I wanna tackle more shading and SSS.

    4)have you missed a day?
    I’ve missed a few midnight deadlines by an hour, does that count? ;)

     
    • itvteacher

      February 9, 2014 at 9:50 am

      That’s great Alan. Thanks for sharing.

       
  11. itvteacher

    February 9, 2014 at 9:52 am

    Thank you all for the feedback, I think it is helpful for others to hear your answers about the subject.

     
  12. Marco Holland

    February 9, 2014 at 12:03 pm

    1) are you using primarily one software?
    Yes, I use cinema4d, because it’s the software that I want to learn everyday more. Sometime I use After Effect for the post compositing of the render.

    2) how much time do you spend doing yours?
    Never more than 2 hours. I have a lot of client job to do in the day before starting make the everyday render. If I don’t like of the result after 2 hours I publish it anyway, because for me the challenge is closing a project, after try new things, and at least make something pretty. If the question is if there are some of my everyday render that I don’t like, yes it’s plenty :), only few are ok for me.

    3) do you find it difficult to come up with a concept/idea?
    No, often I have already an idea or a concept of what to do, and if I don’t have it I start to play randomly on what I like/want to learn, sometimes these render are the best ones.

    4)have you missed a day?
    No never, but a few times happened to make an everyday after a party when I came home late night. This were my everynight :)

     
    • itvteacher

      February 9, 2014 at 12:09 pm

      Nice, lol. Thanks for the input Marco.

       
  13. Arne Breusing (@DezignPhreak)

    February 9, 2014 at 12:56 pm

    The main reason I’m doing daily renderings is the chance to try out new things. Mostly I start a new short experiment everyday with a specific technique or a look in mind I’ve always wanted to try out but never came to do. Sometimes I refine this technique the following days, sometimes I just doodle around. We’re working everyday with software which capabilities we only use half of it. Dailies are a good reason to get to know the other side of these capabilities.

    1) are you using primarily one software?
    Mainly Cinema 4D. I tried After Effects a short period of time but returned to 3D.

    2) how much time do you spend doing yours?
    I try to stick to the one hour limit (mainly because I don’t want to spend the whole evening in front of the computer). But since I discovered the world of looped gif animations, its sometimes a challenge to meet that limit.

    3) do you find it difficult to come up with a concept/idea?
    Not at all. As I said, trying a new technique everyday is a good starting point. It doesn’t have to look awesome at the end, but it’s nice if it does.

    4) have you missed a day?
    Not yet. But I pre-produced some stuff to meet the deadline the other day.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 246 other followers

